Gearing up for Phase Two

Posted: November 21, 2011 in Games
Tags: , , , ,

Over the past few weeks, I have sent out my resume applying to a bunch of companies – both in the video game industry and outside of it.  After so many years, I have decided that I still do want to play in the video game sandbox, but only if I can do it my way.  I’ve brought my Priest to max level, and it’s time to start getting serious with my alts.

I owe that much to my family.  After traveling around the country for many years always pursuing the best opportunity to provide for them, it’s time to focus entirely on them.  My kids are getting older now and need a bit more stability than the volatile video game industry has been keen to provide.  So, I am entering the consulting space, making myself available to companies who need expertise.  I’m also open to working with game developers and publishers in the Austin, Texas area.  And, I am strongly considering working my day job outside the video game space.

We are putting down roots – no more coast to coast relocations for us.  I can stay attached to the games business in many ways – blogging on my zombie games website, for instance.  I am also doing a lot of search engine optimization work these days.  But it is crucial for my family to benefit from the longevity of staying in one spot for the next five to ten years.  We’ve been a band of gypsies since right after my son was born.  We have succeeded in keeping my wife at home to raise both children for the vast majority of the past 12 years, but the cost has been moving a lot.  It’s now time to level up beyond that, and have both my wife at home with the kids, and have a long term stable environment in a place we love.

Thank you for being that place, Austin.  You’re weird.  You’re cool.  And you’re in the middle of the best state in the nation, in my humble opinion.  We’ve lived all over the place, and we know what is available pretty much nationwide by this point.  But, we’re thrilled to be back here, and call this home.  God willing, the next home we buy will be the one my children inherit from us.

Leave a Reply

